Winter Mix

Well, day 3 of ice, no temps above 32, so no melting….and no school.  I, however, can work, unless the rolling blackouts come and then it is catch as catch can.

What have I learned from this? What is my “takeaway”?  Well, having lived in Texas my ENTIRE life, yep, that’s right, I have become accustomed to odd turns of weather.

I remember the year I was a senior in high school and I worked at the Prestonwood Creek 5 United Artists theater.  One December night it iced a nice thick, solid inch all over the roads while I was at work.  When it was time to leave, I drove a new co-worker home in my ’66 Vista Cruiser station wagon.  I was 17, fearless and had resigned myself to the fact that if I HAD to drive the big block of steel, at least whatever I hit would fare less better than the Vista Cruiser.

We were “cruising” along at a nice slow pace at 2 AM on a Friday night, when we hit a patch of ice on a bridge on Arapaho Road that went over a bit of a creek that ran through the Prestonwood Country Club Golf Course.  I remained calm as my car started to turn sideways and I turned into the direction of the slide as taught in drivers ed. while my passenger scrunched to the floorboards and screamed the entire way over the 100 foot long bridge at about 10 mph.  We literally, slid sideways across the bridge and when we got to the other side, the Vista Cruiser righted itself and we continued on home.  My passenger was grateful for our survival to say the least and asked if I would drive her to work the next day.

The next day the roads were no better.  I had picked up another friend/co-worker and on our way to get the passenger from the night before, on Arapaho Road, I hit a patch of ice, and this time the Vista Cruiser did a slow 360 in the center lane, while my friend crouched in the floorboard screaming.  There was nothing I could do.  The large steel back end of the Vista Cruiser had gained momentum and the 360 was going to happen, like it or not.  Again, when the circle had been made, the patch of ice we were on gave me enough traction to right the car and we continued on.  Needless to say those two girls talked excitedly on the way to work about their escapades in the Vista Cruiser.

Those stories have nothing to do with what I have learned about ice storms in Texas this year, though.  My big takeway??  Well, with four dogs and two cats, I would have to say that if you can get them to go outside, you would be best suited to “curb” the poop BEFORE the ice melts.

STAY WARM!  I’m here all week!

This entry was posted in behavior, Cats, Dogs, Uncategorized, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Mix

  1. Dadgum, that was funneh….. I remember that car… it was a good un…..

    Mitchell

Leave a Reply

