Self Awareness

How many of you think you are aware of yourselves?

I mean of course, you know you are (well, most of us do) and many may be self involved, but how many are truly self aware and in being self aware, realize that means you are aware of others as well?  It is a symbiotic relationship that begins with us, but then, by the nature of being aware, which Webster defines as “having or showing realization, perception, or knowledge”, the focus lies not only inwardly, but outwardly to others as well.  Ruminate on that for today…see where you end up.

Being self aware is a natural extension into having a fully developed sense of empathy.  Empathy, not to be confused with “sympathy” is defined as:

: the action of understanding, being aware of, being sensitive to, and vicariously experiencing the feelings, thoughts, and experience of another of either the past or present without having the feelings, thoughts, and experience fully communicated in an objectively explicit manner; also : the capacity for this (thanks again Webster)

In the interest of the challenges I wrote about yesterday, I would like to present the concept of self awareness as a tool to meeting those challenges. And in order to become more self aware, there are certain areas of my life that I will need to begin to inspect on a more regular and measurable way.  Tracking. More specifically, tracking my spending, my intake, my exertion and my stats. Sounds like fun, eh? I would like to approach it with, oddly enough, a bit of emotional distance and look at these challenges in a more scientific way. Funny, I think the emotional distance approach will make me more aware….lend a bit of objectivity to an otherwise emotionally riddled group of activities.

I’ve got to get back to work, but my plan is being formulated.  More later!

Amy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self Awareness

  1. Ozz says:

    Very interesting stuff. With the events of the past few days I am quickly learning that empathy is a lost art these days. I am also becoming more self aware and not sure that I like what I am seeing.

    Self discovery can be a exciting yet ugly thing I guess

    ~Ozz~

Leave a Reply

